Access to Justice Commission

 The Colorado Access to Justice Commission is an independent entity formed in 2003 with the support of the Colorado Supreme Court, the Colorado Bar Association and the Statewide Legal Services Group.

The Access to Justice Commission is comprised of twenty members. The Colorado Supreme Court appoints four members and the Colorado Bar Association appoints ten members. One member is appointed by each of the following: Colorado Legal Services, COLTAF, the Legal Aid Foundation of Colorado, the Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives and President of the Colorado Senate. Members serve staggered three-year terms.

Staff assistance for the Access to Justice Commission is provided by the Colorado Bar Association.

Much of the work of the Access to Justice Commission is through committees comprised of members of the access to justice community and chaired by an Access to Justice Commissioner.

The Mission of the Access to Justice Commission is to develop, coordinate and implement policy initiatives to expand access to and enhance the quality of justice in civil legal matters for persons who encounter barriers in gaining access to Colorado's civil justice system.

ATJ Commission
Officers and Commissioners

Chair

Frederick J. Baumann
Lewis Roca Rothgerber
1200 17th Street, Suite 3000
Denver, CO 80202
fbaumann@lrrlaw.com
 

Vice Chair

Diana M. Poole
Legal Aid Foundation
1900 Grant Street, Suite 1112
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 863-9544
diana@legalaidfoundation.org

Jonathan D. Asher
Colorado Legal Services
1905 Sherman #400
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 866-9399
jasher@colegalserv.org
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2018

Frederick J. Baumann
Lewis Roca Rothgerber
1200 17th Street, Suite 3000
Denver, CO 80202-5855
(303) 623-9000
fbaumann@lrrlaw.com
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2017

Loren Brown
Ciancio Ciancio Brown PC
8001 Arista Pl #400
Broomfield, CO 80021
lorenbrown@colo-law.com
Appointed by -CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Charles F. Garcia
cfgarcia@earthlink.net
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Hon. Will Hood
Colorado Supreme Court
2 E 14th Ave
Denver, CO  80203
(303) 837-3748
william.hood@judicial.state.co.us
Appointed by - Colorado Supreme Court
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Professor Melissa Hart
University of Colorado School of Law
Boulder, CO  80309
303-735-6344
melissa.hart@colorado.edu
Appointed by - Governor's Office
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Hon. Craig Henderson
21st Judicial Distrirct
PO Box 20000-5030
Grand Junction, CO 81502-5001
craig.henderson@judicial.state.co.us
Appointed by - Colorado Supreme Court
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa
Law Office of Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa
150 East 10th Avenue
Denver, CO 80203
krupae@live.com
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2017

Claire Levy
Colorado Center for Law & Policy
789 Sherman St Ste 300
Denver, CO 80203
clevy@cclponline.org
Appointed by - Colorado House of Representatives
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Hon. Gale Miller
Colorado Court of Appeals
2 E 14th Ave
Denver, CO 80203
gale.miller@judicial.state.co.us
Appointed by - Colorado Supreme Court
Term Ends - 12/31/2017

Richard Murray
Polsinelli
1515 Wynkoop St Ste 600
Denver, CO 80202
rmurray@polsinelli.com

Appointed by - Colorado Senate
Term Ends - 12/31/2017

Diana M. Poole
COLTAF
1900 Grant Street, Suite 1112
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 863-9544
diana@legalaidfoundation.org
Appointed by - COLTAF
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Molly Ryan
Colorado Legal Services
PO Box 1259
Beuna Vista, CO
(719) 395-0506
mryan@colegalserv.org
Appointed by - Colorado Legal Services
Term Ends - 12/31/2018

Lauren Schmidt
Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
410 17th St. Ste 2200
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 223-1100
lschmidt@bhfs.com
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2018

Hon. Tim Schutz
4th Judicial District
PO Box Box 2980
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
(719) 448-7532
timothy.schutz@judicial.state.co.us
Appointed by - Colorado Supreme Court
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

Hon. Daniel M. Taubman
Colorado Court of Appeals
2 E. 14th Ave
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 837-3788
daniel.taubman@judicial.state.co.us
Appointed by - Legal Aid Foundation
Term Ends - 12/31/2017

Penny Wagner
State Court Administrator's Office
1300 Broadway, Suite 1200
Denver, CO 80203
(720) 625-5612
penny.wagner@judicial.state.co.us
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2016

John S. Zakhem
Jackson Kelly PLLC
1099 18th St, Ste 2150
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 390-0351
jszakhem@jacksonkelly.com
Appointed by - CBA
Term Ends - 12/31/2016