Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory

February 11, 2010 - Marybeth Peters

February Luncheon Event


Marybeth Peters, Register of Copyrights, United States Copyright Office

February 11, 2010; 11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.

Denver ChopHouse, Large Banquet Room

Co-sponsored by the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Copyright Society USA

Details on her topic to follow


Marybeth Peters became the United States Register of Copyrights on August 7, 1994. From 1983 to 1994 she held the position of policy planning adviser to the register. She has also served as acting general counsel of the Copyright Office and as chief of both the Examining and Information and Reference divisions. Peters is a frequent speaker on copyright issues; she is the author of The General Guide to the Copyright Act of 1976. She delivered the 2004 Brace Memorial Lecture (at New York University School of Law) and the 1996 Horace S. Manages Lecture at Columbia University School of Law. She serves on the Intellectual Property Advisory Committees of several law schools.


Ms. Peters has received numerous awards for her work as Register of Copyrights. They include: The 2005 Jefferson Medal, awarded by the New Jersey Intellectual Property Law Association, for exceptional contributions in the field of intellectual property, the 2004 Cyber Champion Award presented by the Business Software Alliance, for exceptional contributions in the field of computer law, the 2003 Computer Law Association Past President’s Award for distinguished service to information technology lawyers throughout the world, an award from the American Society of Media Photographers for “exemplary fairness and contributions to photographers,” an award from the Graphic Artists Guild, the Women in Music 1999 Touchstone Award for legislative contributions that brought significant benefit to those in music, the Los Angeles Copyright Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award, the American Intellectual Property Law Association 2006 Excellence Award and State Bar of Texas Entertainment & Sports Law Section 2007 Texas Star Award.