Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory

TCL > December 2002 Issue > CBA Honors Pro Bono Award Recipients

December 2002       Vol. 31, No. 12       Page  33
Access to Justice

CBA Honors Pro Bono Award Recipients

The Colorado Bar Association honored pro bono award recipients at the Access to Justice Conference held at the University of Denver College of Law on October 25, 2002.






David Butler—Recipient of the Jacob V. Schaetzel Award

The Jacob V. Schaetzel Award recognizes lawyers and non-lawyers who have made significant contributions in the development of delivery systems for legal services to low-income citizens in Colorado. Jacob V. Schaetzel was a Denver lawyer and a pioneer in the development of ideas and programs that provide civil legal services to Colorado’s poor. The CBA honored David Butler as the 2002 recipient of the Schaetzel Award. Butler has served on the boards of the Legal Aid Society of Metropolitan Denver, Legal Aid Foundation, and Colorado Lawyers Trust Account Foundation ("COLTAF") and is the chair of the Colorado Legal Services Planning Group. He was the lead transactional attorney for the merger of the various legal services offices into what is now known as Colorado Legal Services ("CLS"). He continues to represent and counsel CLS. Butler also has been instrumental in taking the proposal to form a statewide Access to Justice Commission from concept to reality, working with the courts, the bar, and services providers to form this significant group. His dedication to the cause of those who need legal services shows in his consistent service to the organizations that fill those needs.






Lucy Hojo Denson—Recipient of the Donald W. Hoagland Award

The Donald W. Hoagland Award annually recognizes and honors outstanding leaders in the development and implementation of pro bono representation. Donald W. Hoagland has been described as "the pro bono conscience of the bar" for his work in developing private bar pro bono programs that currently serve the indigent citizens of the state of Colorado. Lucy Hojo Denson is the recipient of the 2002 Hoagland Award. Denson is the chair of the Pro Bono Post-Decree Clinic and serves as an instructor for the Pre-Dissolution Clinic for the Arapahoe District Court, sponsored by the Arapahoe County Bar. Denson also is an active volunteer for Metro Volunteer Lawyers, as well as for the Colorado Women’s Bar Association. She is an integral part of the Asian Pacific Development Center, a nonprofit organization that provides a variety of services to the Asian American population of Colorado, serving on the Center’s board for the past few years. Lucy Denson shows a true dedication to those in need of legal services by being available to provide those services, as well as participating in the planning and administration of those services.






 Patty Bennett—Recipient of the Pro Bono Coordinator of the Year Award

The Pro Bono Coordinator of the Year Award recognizes an individual coordinator’s outstanding efforts in providing access to pro bono legal services in the community. This year’s award recipient is Patty Bennett, Director of the Uncompahgre Volunteer Legal Aid ("UVLA") office in Montrose, Colorado. Bennett has demonstrated a consistent and enduring dedication to the delivery of legal services, beginning with her service at UVLA in 1988. She has effectively mobilized the support of the entire Seventh Judicial District Bar. She knows the local attorneys well and prepares them for pro bono cases by learning the exact needs of the clients. Bennett is an advocate for the services provided through her local program and in her geographic area. Moreover, she has never lost sight of the need for a broader vision of pro bono services and strong partnership with other legal services providers. Bennett exhibits great enthusiasm for her work and in providing services for her community.

© 2002 The Colorado Lawyer and Colorado Bar Association. All Rights Reserved. Material from The Colorado Lawyer provided via this World Wide Web server is protected by the copyright laws of the United States and may not be reproduced in any way or medium without permission. This material also is subject to the disclaimers at