Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory

TCL > July 2005 Issue > Bar News

July 2005       Vol. 34, No. 7       Page  8
In and Around the Bar
Bar News

Bar News
by Leona Martínez

Bar News is a monthly compilation of news from the Colorado Bar Association, including Sections and Committees, administration, local, minority, and specialty bar associations. Send information and photos about Bar events and activities to: Leona Martínez, CBA/TCL, 1900 Grant St., Ste. 900, Denver, CO 80203-4336;; fax: (303) 830-3990. Call with quesitons: (303) 824-5324 or toll-free in-state: (800) 332-6736


On May 18, 2005, the Denver Bar Association Seniors Committee held its Seniors Banquet at the Warwick Hotel in Denver. Thirty-six DBA members who became licensed to practice law in 1955 were honored for their accomplishments during their long careers. Each of the honorees, many of whom are pictured below, were presented a blue-ribboned medal depicting their fifty years in the profession.

The fifty-year attorneys who were honored are: Bennett Aisenberg, Jack Anderson, Richard Waldron Bryans, Edward Carelli, Richard Coates, C. James Cooper, John Dahle, Marvin Dansky, Lael DeMuth, Robert Dippo, Joseph E. Dworkin, Robert Schuler Eberhardt, Robert Fullerton, George Gibson, Gerald Groswold, Elmer Hamby, Robert Hansen, Richard Harvey, Sanford Hertz, Gary Mike Hilgers, George Hopfenbeck, Leland Huttner, James Larson, Charles McDermott, Douglas Graeme McKinnon, John Moran, Stephen Murphy, Charles Pierce, C. Victor Quinn, John Reilly, Hubert Mayer Safran, John Schyultz, Philip Sheridan, William Waggener, Lester Ward, and Walter Woods.

Pictured above are twenty of the thirty-six members honored at the DBA Seniors Banquet (left to right back row): Robert Dippo, Walter "Alan" Woods, John Moran, George Hopfenbeck, Lester Ward, Charles Pierce, Richard Coates, Ben Aisenberg, Bill Waggener, Doug McKinnon, Richard Harvey, and Bob Fullerton; (front row): Gary "Mike" Hilgers, Bob Hansen, John Dahle, Lael DeMuth, Art Otten, Marvin Dansky, Ed Carelli, Jack Reilly.


Glenwood Springs High School, Colorado’s state high school mock trial champion for an unprecedented fourth time, competed against forty-four teams in the 2005 National High School Mock Trial Competition on May 6 and 7, in Charlotte, North Carolina. Students tried a civil case involving the death of a NASCAR driver.

The Glenwood Springs team competed against teams from New Jersey, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Arkansas. The team won three of the four rounds and placed eighth in the nation. In addition, three Glenwood Springs students won awards for "Best Attorney" and/or "Best Witness."

Congratulations to the team’s attorney coaches: David Hallford, Ruben Hernandez, Matt Kaufman, Amanda Mauer, Paul Metzger, Dennis Walters, Hugh Warder, and Victor Zerbi. Kudos to team members: Graham Jackson, Sarah Lewis, Zac Parsons, Scott Straus, Zach Hallford, Angie Vichick, Dylan Walters, and Abriette Yawa.

For complete information about the High School Mock Trial Program, including opportunities to serve as volunteer attorney coaches or judges, contact Carolyn Ferber: (800) 332-6736, (303) 824-5333, or


"Media Day 2005" was held in Denver on May 23. The day-long event was co-sponsored by the Colorado Press Association, State Court Administrators Office, and Adams/ Broomfield, Arapahoe, Boulder, Colorado, Continental Divide, Denver, and Larimer County Bar Associations. The CBA Communications Department, under the direction of Diane Hartman and Stacy Chesney, hosted the event.

The program’s educational legal seminars, with the profession’s finest leading the discussions, were tailored specifically for reporters and editors, to apprise them of vital legal issues and how to communicate with the profession to best inform the public. Approximately fifty reporters, editors, and columnists from the Denver metropolitan area and beyond attended programs dealing with water law and privacy issues; criminal and sentencing processes; families in court; finding important documents and records online; and more. Among the attorneys and judges who served as program speakers and presenters were: Judge Karen Ashby, Judge James Breese, Joe Dischinger, Jeff Flax, Pat Furman, Bob Grant, David Kaplan, Justice Rebecca Kourlis, David Lane, Judge John P. Leopold, Mark Masters, Reba Nance, Dan Reilly, Bonnie Schriner, Craig Truman, Jim Witwer, and Steve Zansberg.

Dan Reilly spoke on covering civil court. Bar–Press relations was the topic of discussion led by Pat Furman. Left to right: Colorado Supreme Court Justice
Rebecca Kourlis, Denver Juvenile Court Chief
Judge Karen Ashby, and CBA Family Law
Section Chair Bonnie Schriner discussed families in the court.

David Lane, left, and 18th J.D. Chief Judge
John P. Leopold spoke about the sentencing process.
CBA Director of Law Practice Management Reba Nance was on the panel that showed attendees how to find important documents online.


The Colorado Lawyers Committee ("CLC") held its 26th Annual Meeting on May 19, 2005. The CLC presented awards for individual and collective efforts that further the CLC’s mission to "provide and increase opportunities for children, the poor, and other disadvantaged communities through pro bono advocacy, negotiation, and litigation."

Gregory B. Kanan
was presented the 2004 Outstanding Sustained Contribution for his efforts on behalf of CLC. The law firm of Musgrave & Theis LLP was presented the 2004 Law Firm of the Year award. Four individuals shared the 2004 Individual of the Year award. Recipients, pictured with CLC Executive Director Connie Talmage, are (left to right): D. Elisabeth Arenales, Maureen S. Farrell, Connie Talmage, Michael J. Cook, and Edwin S. Kahn. The individuals were recogninzed for their representation involving the state’s Computer Benefits Management System. The law firm of McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP was given the 2004 Special Recognition Award for providing office space for the CLC for six years.

The CLC also thanks the event’s 2005 "Gold Sponsors": Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP; Faegre & Benson LLP; Hale Friesen, LLP; Issacson Rosenbaum P.C.; Morrison & Foerster LLP; Musgrave & Theis LLP; Rothgerber Johnson & Lyons LLP; and Snell & Winter L.L.P.

© 2005 The Colorado Lawyer and Colorado Bar Association. All Rights Reserved. Material from The Colorado Lawyer provided via this World Wide Web server is protected by the copyright laws of the United States and may not be reproduced in any way or medium without permission. This material also is subject to the disclaimers at