Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory

TCL > August 2006 Issue > Bar News

August 2006       Vol. 35, No. 8       Page  7
In and Around the Bar
Bar News

Bar News
by Mindy Marks

Bar News is a monthly compilation of news from the Colorado Bar Association, including Sections and Committees, Administration, and Local and Specialty Bar Associations.Please send information and photos about Bar events and activities taking place around the state to:Mindy Marks—, (303) 824-5312.
Call toll-free in-state: (800) 332-6736.


In May 2006, Denver Probate Court Presiding Judge C. Jean Stewart was presented the "Angel Award" by Denver’s East High School. The award recognizes Stewart’s volunteer work with students.

Stewart has been a mentor at East High School for many years. She recently conducted a weekly class in life skills for at-risk freshmen. In this course, Stewart taught studying, listening, and interviewing skills. Stewart also employed several East High School students as interns in the Denver Probate Court as part of East High School’s "School-to-Career" program.

In April 2006, Stewart was honored at the first annual University of Denver Law Review alumni banquet. She was the first woman in the law school’s history to serve as editor-in-chief of the Denver University Law Review.


The Boulder County Bar Association ("BCBA") held its annual dinner in early June 2006, with record-breaking attendance of more than 100 people. The event included the recognition of several members, as well as the announcement of BCBA Board members.

BCBA Board member Connie Eyster presented the Award of Merit to William D. Meyer of Hutchinson, Black & Cook LLC. Meyer was acknowledged for his contributions to the local community and his extensive efforts in building democracy throughout the world.

Boulder County Legal Services ("BCLS") managing attorney Joel Hayes presented the John Marshall award to Michael Ruderman. The John Marshall award is given each year to a Boulder County attorney who has provided legal services to the poor of the community on a volunteer basis through the BCLS office. Ruderman has practiced law in Boulder for twelve years.

Anton Dworak, from the Longmont office of Bernard, Lyons, Gaddis and Kahn, was paid tribute for his service as BCBA President. Incoming BCBA President Steve Closky presented Dworak with the Presidential Award.

The evening’s business included approval of new BCBA Board members by the attending Bar membership. Ellen Cadette and Rogelio Peña will serve on the BCBA Board of Directors for the next three years. Denean Hill is the new secretary/ treasurer and will serve as BCBA President during the 2008–09 term.

Michael Ruderman (left) with Joel Hayes, after presentation of the John Marshall Award.

Anton Dworak (left) receives the Presidential Award from Steve Closky.


The CBA Water Law Section held its Annual Water Law Conference on June 30, 2006, in Steamboat Springs. In keeping with tradition, the program included the induction to the Ancient and Honorable Order of the Water Buffalo. This year’s honorees were: former Colorado Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Love Kourlis, Hon. John Anderson, Hon. Jonathan Hayes, Orlyn Bell, Ken Beegles, and Bill Brown. Colorado Supreme Court Justice Gregory Hobbs presided over the induction ceremony.

The evening’s dinner program set a new attendee record of fifty people. During the evening, attendees paid tribute to Judge Peter Craven, who passed away in June. Justice Hobbs presented a poem he wrote to honor Judge Craven’s life and memory. See a reprint of the poem, as well as other tributes, on page 171 of this issue.

The Fourth Annual Water Law Conference will be held at the Sheraton Steamboat Resort on June 22–23, 2007. Start your long-range planning today!

Left to right: Bill Brown; Ken Beegles; Orlyn Bell; Hon. John Anderson; Hon. Jonathan Hays; Justice Gregory Hobbs.

Water Law breakout session at the June 2006 CBA Water Law Section Conference.



The Seventh Judicial District Bar Association ("7th J.D.") is presenting a one-day continuing legal education ("CLE") program on Saturday, September 16, 2006, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Holiday Inn Express in Montrose. Cocktails and a reception with a keynote speaker will be held on the evening of September 15, from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.

September 16 program topics are varied. Scheduled programs are: "Rule 8.3 of the Code of Professional Conduct," presented by Judge J. Steven Patrick; "How Parental Responsibilities Evaluators and Child and Family Investigators Can Be Used in Domestic Relations Cases," presented by Jock Fleming and Eric Cooper High; "Low-End Estate Planning," presented by Lincoln Anderson and Jim Link; and "Transitioning Your Law Practice from Paper to PDF—The Lawyers Guide to Electronically Creating, Storing, and Retrieving Information Using Adobe Acrobat," presented by David Masters.

Cost to attend is $90 for 7th J.D. members who register on or before August 1, 2006, and $100 for non-7th J.D. members. After August 1, cost is $120 for everyone. The registration fee includes enrollment, one ethics and seven general CLE credits, the Friday evening reception, and lunch on Saturday. For complete information, contact Samuel Sorkin at (970) 641-0176 or


At the Colorado Criminal Defense Bar ("CCDB") Annual Spring Dinner, the Jonathan Olom Award was presented to Phil Cherner. The Olom Award is given "for remarkable personal sacrifice made without regard to personal gain in defense of the accused." Throughout his career, Cherner has donated time, resources, and money to assist those in need of defense services. For many years, he also has advised young defense lawyers in the area of advocacy. [For a profile of Jonathan Olom, written by Phil Cherner, see the July 2006 issue of The Colorado Lawyer, beginning on page 39.]

The CCDB is dedicated to the protection of the rights of the accused. Every year, the organization presents Gideon Awards, which acknowledge members for their outstanding service to the CCDB or the community. Recipients of the 2006 award were Maureen Cain, CCDB legislative liaison; Jim Covino, advocate and juvenile defender; and Greg Greer, who has provided experience and training within the Colorado Public Defender’s system for decades.

The 2006–07 CCDB officers were formally inducted at the event. They include new President Tom Hammond, who succeeds Pat Ridley; President-Elect Nancy Holton; and Treasurer Charles Garcia.

© 2006 The Colorado Lawyer and Colorado Bar Association. All Rights Reserved. Material from The Colorado Lawyer provided via this World Wide Web server is protected by the copyright laws of the United States and may not be reproduced in any way or medium without permission. This material also is subject to the disclaimers at