Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory

May 16, 2006 - Accesss to Justice Pro Bono Award Winners

CBA Header Image


May 16, 2006
For Immediate Release

Contact: Kate Arganese
(303) 824-5333



Accesss to Justice Pro Bono Award Winners

Six people will be honored for their pro bono contributions at the Access to Justice in Colorado — Local Perspectives and Initiatives Conference, in Denver, May 19–20.

Sue Parenteau will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Parenteau is being honored for her 16 years of tireless dedication as the pro bono coordinator for Boulder County Legal Services.

Jon S. Nicholls will be awarded the Marilyn Meadoff Award. The Meadoff Award honors attorneys or non-attorneys who made significant contributions to the representation or advancement of representation of Colorado citizens. Nicholls began his pro bono work as a student at University of Denver College of Law, where he worked as a student lawyer with the Legal Aid Society in the 1960s. In the 1970s he became the Legal Aid Society’s executive director. Jon continues to provide pro bono representation, especially in the area of bankruptcy, as well as coordinating with the University of Denver Sturm College of Law to provide pro bono opportunities for law students.

M. Carl Glatstein will be given the Jacob V. Schaetzel Award. The Schaetzel Award honors attorneys or non-attorneys whose commitment, energy and innovative approaches to the delivery of legal services serve as models for others in the community. He is known for his passion in safeguarding the elderly from financial exploitation and other abuses, and “sees the need to inform seniors on how to protect themselves.” While Glatstein is a leading elder law attorney and volunteers his time to help others, his dedication does not stop at pro bono casework. Glatstein leads Senior Law Day (a day filled with seminars and free information for older adults) at the University of Denver. He also teaches continuing legal education classes for lawyers on elder financial exploitation and abuse.

Colorado Supreme Court Justice Gregory J. Hobbs Jr. is the recipient of the Jack Donahue Award. The Donahue Award honors attorneys or non-attorneys who made significant contributions to the development of innovative programs or approaches to serving the unmet legal needs of Colorado citizens. Justice Hobbs has encouraged greater pro bono service in Colorado by spearheading many of the initiatives of Colorado’s Access to Justice Commission. He led the effort to encourage lawyers and law firms throughout the state to commit to 50 hours per lawyer of pro bono service. Justice Hobbs also led the initiative to adopt Colorado Rule of Civil Procedure 260.8, which permits lawyers to obtain continuing legal education credit for providing pro bono service through recognized providers.

The Qwest Legal Department Pro bono Program will receive the Donald W. Hoagland Award, which annually honors outstanding leadership in the development, support and ongoing efforts of pro bono representation. Qwest has demonstrated dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to the poor through pro bono activities. Qwest also contributed significant efforts toward developing innovative approaches to the delivery of pro bono legal services. Qwest developed six initiatives in an effort to encourage broad-based participation. These initiatives include: Colorado Coalition for the Homeless, The Gathering Place, Immigration Law, Colorado Legal Services Environmental Law and Lawline 9. As a result, the Qwest Law Department has been able to meet the legal needs of previously underserved populations. The department has already served hundreds of people.

Hon. William D. Alexander is the Pro Bono Coordinator of the Year. The Pro Bono Coordinator of the Year Award honors a pro bono coordinator in Colorado who, in the past year, contributed the most to providing civil legal services to the disadvantaged through a local bar or law firm-sponsored pro bono project or other law related pro bono projects. Hon. Alexander is a Pueblo judge who has initiated several new programs, including one to curb underage drinking. He also hosts a local radio and television show, where he addresses concerns from the public.