Search



Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Find A Lawyer Directory

Calendars

Member Questions

I'm not licensed to practice law in Colorado. Can I still become a CBA member?

Can I subscribe to The Colorado Lawyer without being a Colorado Bar Association member?

What are the different categories of CBA membership, and how are they defined? What are the dues levels?

How come I'm getting another invoice in June? I just paid in January!

How do I join a section or committee?

If I change my address with the CBA, does this also get changed at Attorney Registration?

Do I have to mail in my own CLE affidavit, or do you do that for me?

Since I was not able to make the program, do I still have to pay?

I know that either I or my assistant registered me for a program. Why am I not on the registration list?

Can I pay at the door for my upcoming CBA/DBA programs?

How many CLE credits do I have and when is my compliance period up?


 

I'm not licensed to practice law in Colorado. Can I still become a CBA member?

Answer: Yes. As long as you are licensed in another state, you may join the CBA.

Can I subscribe to The Colorado Lawyer without being a Colorado Bar Association member?

Answer: Non-attorneys may subscribe to The Colorado Lawyer without being a member of the Colorado Bar Association. Cost is $100 for the calendar year, prepaid by check or credit card. Attorneys who are licensed in a state other than Colorado and who reside in a state other than Colorado may subscribe to The Colorado Lawyer for $100 for the calendar year. Colorado-licensed attorneys receive The Colorado Lawyer only through CBA membership, regardless of whether you reside in Colorado or elsewhere. Contact the Colorado Bar Association Membership Services Department for more information: (303) 860-1115.

What are the different categories of CBA membership, and how are they defined? What are the dues levels?

Answer: There are three categories of active membership in the Colorado Bar Association, based on the number of years a member has been licensed to practice law in any jurisdiction, not just in Colorado. The Senior category is for attorneys who have been licensed more than 8 years. The Intermediate category is for attorneys licensed more than 4 years but less than 8 years. The Junior category is for attorneys who have been licensed less than 4 years. The dues are as follows:

Senior $185.00
Intermediate $165.00
Junior $100.00

It is important to remember that the number of years is based on and attorney’s first date of admission, which may or may not be in Colorado. For example, if an attorney was first licensed to practice in Kansas in 1990 and then in Colorado in 1995, that attorney would be a Senior member.

All Senior, Intermediate and Junior CBA members who live in Colorado must also belong to at least one of the 27 local bar associations across the state. This is required to maintain CBA membership.

The Student membership category is for students at accredited law schools. While not required, student members are encouraged to join a local bar association as well. There are currently 6 local bar associations that offer student membership (Denver, Boulder, Arapahoe, Douglas/ Elbert, El Paso and Weld). CBA Student dues are free.

The Retired category is for those attorneys who are over the age of 65 and not practicing law full time. CBA Retired dues are $75.

The Inactive category is for attorneys who are on inactive status with the Colorado Supreme Court. Inactive members are not required to join a local bar association but may do so if they wish. Both the Denver and El Paso County Bar Associations have an Inactive membership category. CBA Inactive dues are $75.

How come I'm getting another invoice in June? I just paid in January!

Answer: The invoices are from two separate organizations, so you are not getting billed twice for the same thing!

It is very likely that the bill that you paid in January was to the Colorado Supreme Court Office of Attorney Registration. This is for your law license; if you do not pay this within a specific time period, your license will not be valid. Their billing period runs on a calendar year, and the money is due at the end of February.

The CBA runs on a fiscal year from July to June. We do our membership renewal billing in early to mid-June, so anything that you receive in the summer is from the CBA.

How do I join a section or committee?

Answer: Just call the Membership Services Department at (303) 860-1115 or send email to membership@cobar.org to let us know which section(s) or forum committee(s) you would like to join. We will sign you up right away, and then will send you an invoice for the dues. Otherwise, you can fill out our online form and we will send you an invoice, http://www.cobar.org/membership/commpref.cfm.

If I change my address with the CBA, does this also get changed at Attorney Registration?

Answer: No. The CBA is separate from Attorney Registration, and we maintain separate membership databases. If you give the CBA an address change, you should also notify Attorney Registration at (303) 866-6554 or visit their website at http://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/Registration/Services.htm#AddChg

Giving the CBA an address change will also change it for your local bar association, and any other bar-related mailings. We do share our address changes with Continuing Legal Education of Colorado, Inc. (CLECI) as frequently as possible, but you may also want to call them at (303) 860-0608 and let them know that you have moved.

Do I have to mail in my own CLE affidavit, or do you do that for me?

Answer:  If you attend a CLE program at the CBA offices, we will always collect CLE affidavits after the program ends and mail them to the Colorado Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal Education for you.  If you mistakenly take your CLE affidavit with you back to the office, you will be responsible for mailing the affidavit to the Colorado Supreme Court.  The address is at the top of the affidavits.  Please do not mail the affidavits back to the CBA offices.

Since I was not able to make the program, do I still have to pay?

Answer:  Many of the CLE programs that are put on by the Bar Association allow you to cancel your registration before the program.  Many of them require cancellation 24 hours before the program begins.  If you do not cancel your registration directly with a CBA/DBA employee you will be charged for the cost of the program.

I know that either I or my assistant registered me for a program. Why am I not on the registration list?

Answer:  The gremlin must be at it again.  We have about 1,000 members go through our programs each month.  There are times when registrants do not appear on our registration lists.  We try to minimize this occurance, but it does happen.  We here at the CBA/DBA understand that this happens, and that we will get attorneys who suddenly have their schedule open up.  Generally speaking we do have extra spaces at MOST of our programs.  We welcome all members and will try to accomadate as many as we can.

Can I pay at the door for my upcoming CBA/DBA programs?

Answer:  For programs put on by the CBA, you can pay at the door using cash, check or MasterCard or Visa.

How many CLE credits do I have and when is my compliance period up?

Answer: Please check with the Colorado Supreme Court for information about your cle credits. www.coloradosupremcourt.com