Establishing a Commitment to Diversity


“Bar associations are critical vehicles for advancing diversity and inclusivity because we help shape the norms of our profession.”
—ABA, “Diversity in the Legal Profession: The Next Steps” (2010)

2019-2020 Governance & Leadership Diversity & Inclusivity Action Plan
Click below to access the full version or the plan summary 



Diversity is Better

CBA Strategic Plan: Engage Diverse and Statewide Populations

Engage under-represented and statewide populations by improving and ensuring their inclusion at all levels of the CBA, building symbiotic relations with specialty bars, using technology to better reach members statewide, and strengthening local bar associations. Click here for the complete CBA Strategic Plan.

Section Diversity Inclusivity Toolkit

Key concepts, practical tools and curated resources are available to leaders as they build leadership pipelines, develop messaging and outreach opportunities, implement tools for success and measure & report progress. Click Here for the Section Diversity Inclusivity Toolkit.


American Bar Association
Diversity and Inclusion Resources

Colorado Lawyer 
Meet the CBA and DBA’s New Diversity and Inclusivity Steering Committee

Colorado Specialty/Diversity Bar Associations

Diversity and Inclusion: Bar communications play a critical role
By Marilyn Cavicchia



Want to get involved? Have a question or idea to share? Contact Emy Lopez.

Joint Steering Committee 

• Patricia Jarzobski, Chair
• John Baker
• Catherine Chan
• Courtney Holm 
• Amy Larson
• Ryann Peyton
• Melissa Schwartz
• Mario Trimble 
• Mariana Vielma
• Emy Lopez, CBA Liaison 

Team 1
Building: A Leadership Pipeline 

• Chairs: Ryann Peyton and
Catherine Chan

• Kevin McReynolds
• Bryon Large
• Amy DeVan
• Joi Kush
• Phelicia Butler
• Emily Fleischmann

Team 2
Messaging: Promoting & Outreach 

• Chairs: Courtney Holm and
Mario Trimble

• Bonnie Schriner
• Mo Watson
• Linda Moss
• Mallory Hasbrook
• Mallory Revel

Team 3
Implementing: Tools to Succeed 

• Chairs: Melissa Schwartz and
Patricia Jarzobski 
• Loren Brown
• Nicole Black
• Miko Brown
• Jake Eisenstein
• Kathryn Starnella

Team 4
Accountability: Transparency, Measuring & Reporting Progress 

• Chairs: John Baker and
Mariana Vielma
• Amy Larson
• Franz Hardy
• Liz Starrs
• Paul Chan
• Emma Garrison
• Jon Olafson